The Group of Twenty, commonly known as the G20, is an international forum for governments and central bank governors from 19 countries and the European Union. The G20 was established in 1999 in response to the financial crises of the late 1990s. The forum provides a platform for major economies to discuss and coordinate policies related to international financial stability and economic development.

Key features of the G20 include:

1. **Member Countries:**
– The G20 consists of 19 individual countries and the European Union. The member countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

2. **Central Bank Governors and Finance Ministers:**
– In addition to the leaders of the member countries, the G20 meetings also involve central bank governors and finance ministers. These officials discuss and coordinate policies related to economic and financial issues.

3. **Rotating Presidency:**
– The G20 operates on a rotating presidency system, where a member country assumes the role of the G20 presidency for a specific term. The presidency rotates among the member countries on an annual basis. The host country organizes and chairs the annual G20 summit and other related meetings.

4. **Summits and Meetings:**
– The G20 holds an annual summit, bringing together the leaders of the member countries to discuss key global economic issues. In addition to the summit, there are regular meetings of finance ministers, central bank governors, and other officials throughout the year.

5. **Agenda:**
– The G20 agenda covers a wide range of economic and financial topics, including international trade, financial market regulation, sustainable development, climate change, digital economy, and efforts to address global challenges such as pandemics and poverty.

6. **Informal Nature:**
– The G20 operates in an informal manner, and its decisions are not legally binding. However, the forum serves as a platform for dialogue and coordination, allowing major economies to exchange views and collaborate on common challenges.

7. **Global Economic Governance:**
– The G20 plays a significant role in global economic governance and policymaking. It provides a platform for major economies to work together on issues that have implications for the stability and growth of the global economy.

8. **Outreach and Engagement:**
– The G20 engages with various international organizations, including the International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank, World Trade Organization (WTO), and others. The forum also conducts outreach efforts, involving dialogue with non-member countries and representatives of civil society.

The G20 has become a key forum for addressing global economic challenges and fostering international cooperation. While it focuses on economic issues, discussions within the G20 also cover broader geopolitical and global governance issues. The G20’s informal and inclusive nature allows for open dialogue and collaboration among major economies with diverse economic and political systems.