The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) is a comprehensive listing of federal assistance programs available to state and local governments, public and private nonprofit organizations, businesses, individuals, and other entities in the United States. Managed by the General Services Administration (GSA), the CFDA provides information about various federal grants, loans, and other forms of assistance offered by federal agencies.

Key features and information related to the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) include:

1. **Purpose:**
– The CFDA serves as a centralized and standardized source of information on federal assistance programs. It helps potential recipients identify and access available funding opportunities to support various projects, initiatives, and activities.

2. **Program Descriptions:**
– Each entry in the CFDA contains detailed information about a specific federal assistance program. This includes the program’s purpose, objectives, eligibility criteria, application process, and contact information for the responsible federal agency.

3. **Federal Agencies:**
– The CFDA covers a wide range of federal agencies, departments, and offices that administer assistance programs. These agencies include, but are not limited to, the Departments of Agriculture, Education, Health and Human Services, Housing and Urban Development, and more.

4. **Searchable Database:**
– The CFDA is available as a searchable online database, making it easier for users to find relevant information. Users can search by keywords, agency names, or program numbers to identify assistance programs that align with their needs.

5. **Program Numbers:**
– Each federal assistance program listed in the CFDA is assigned a unique program number. This number helps users quickly identify and reference specific programs.

6. **Eligibility Criteria:**
– The CFDA provides information about the eligibility criteria for each program, specifying the types of entities or individuals that may qualify for assistance.

7. **Application Procedures:**
– Detailed guidance on the application process is included in each CFDA entry. This information helps potential recipients understand how to apply for federal assistance and what documentation is required.

8. **CFDA Numbering System:**
– The CFDA uses a numbering system to organize and categorize federal assistance programs. Each program is assigned a CFDA number, which consists of a two-digit prefix representing the federal agency and a two-digit suffix representing the specific program.

9. **Updates and Changes:**
– The CFDA is regularly updated to reflect changes in federal assistance programs, including new programs, modifications to existing programs, and discontinuations. Users are encouraged to check for the latest information before applying for assistance.

10. **Resource for Grant Seekers:**
– The CFDA is a valuable resource for grant seekers, researchers, and organizations seeking federal funding. It provides a centralized source of information to streamline the process of identifying and applying for relevant programs.

11. **Uniform Guidance:**
– The CFDA aligns with the Uniform Guidance, which sets forth standardized policies and procedures for federal grants and cooperative agreements. This helps ensure consistency and transparency in the administration of federal assistance programs.

The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance plays a crucial role in promoting transparency, accessibility, and efficiency in the distribution of federal assistance. It serves as a valuable tool for individuals, organizations, and entities seeking information about federal grants and other forms of support.