The BRIC grouping originally referred to Brazil, Russia, India, and China, representing four major emerging economies with significant global influence. The term was coined by economist Jim O’Neill in 2001. These countries were identified as having the potential to become key players in the global economy due to their large populations, substantial natural resources, and rapid economic growth.

Here’s an overview of the original BRIC countries:

1. **Brazil:**
– Brazil is the largest country in South America, known for its diverse culture and abundant natural resources. Its economy is characterized by strengths in agriculture, mining, and manufacturing. Brazil has been a major exporter of commodities such as soybeans, iron ore, and oil.

2. **Russia:**
– Russia is the largest country in the world, spanning Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. It is rich in natural resources, particularly oil, natural gas, and minerals. Russia has a significant impact on global energy markets and is a major player in geopolitical affairs.

3. **India:**
– India, located in South Asia, has a large and diverse economy. It has experienced rapid economic growth, driven by sectors such as information technology, services, pharmaceuticals, and manufacturing. India is known for its youthful population and a growing middle class.

4. **China:**
– China is the most populous country globally and has the world’s second-largest economy. It has undergone unprecedented economic transformation and industrialization, becoming a manufacturing and export powerhouse. China is a major player in global trade and has made substantial investments in infrastructure and technology.

These four countries were identified for their potential to reshape the global economic landscape and challenge the existing economic order. The BRIC concept gained widespread recognition, and the countries started holding annual summits to discuss economic cooperation and other strategic issues.

In 2010, South Africa was invited to join the group, expanding it to BRICS. The addition of South Africa reflected a desire to include an African representative in the coalition. The BRICS grouping has continued to engage in discussions and initiatives aimed at fostering economic collaboration, development, and addressing global challenges.

While each BRICS member has its unique economic characteristics and challenges, the grouping as a whole seeks to promote a multipolar world and advocate for reforms in global governance institutions. The BRICS nations have also established institutions such as the New Development Bank (NDB) to fund infrastructure and sustainable development projects and the Contingent Reserve Arrangement (CRA) to provide a financial safety net in case of balance of payments problems.